MALIMO family: The Pichis

Today we want to introduce you to a part of the Malimo Family: The Pichis (@the.pichis). The Pichis consists of Luis and Ciarán, a married couple from Dublin. They also have their own label P.Shirts: Vintage, unisex and unique. They inspire us on instagram with their outstanding style. We asked them a few questions about their life as a couple, their label and their inspirations.

The Pichis Malimo x General Consulting Berlin
Who are you?

We are a married couple and we live in Dublin, Ireland. We love vintage fashion, photography and art. We also enjoy creating LGBTQ content on social media that breaks the stereotypes of gender, identity and love.

How did you meet?

We met 4 years ago at a restaurant. Luis was working and Ciarán was there as a customer. Our first date was on November 2nd, on Ciarán’s birthday! Since then we’ve been together. The marriage equality referendum in Ireland was approved in 2015. Then, we got married in December 2016 in Bray, Ireland.

How did The Pichis come to life?

We created The Pichis right after the referendum. We both thought it could be a good idea to share an Instagram account of our life together and become a supporting voice to the LGBTQ community in Ireland and around the world. A page where people can see us and see themselves living a free life with their partners without being shamed or criticized for their sexual preferences. Also, a free place to express our interests and meet people like us.

What can you tell us about P.Shirts, your own label?

For the last 2 years we have been working on our label. P.Shirts (@pshirts.ie) is a collection of vintage shirts. They’re all unique, individual and unisex. The brand has given us the opportunity to explore the fashion industry and see it from a completely different point of view, a sustainable one.

We try to avoid fast fashion. Instead, we promote and support small businesses that create, reuse and upcycle items of clothing. For us, this is the future of fashion. It’s our dream to expand our brand with sustainability.

Luis in our Malimo x General Consulting “Zahnpflege” Shirt

Ciarán in our Malimo x General Consulting “Schnittblumen” Shirt

How would you describe your style and what inspires you?

Ciarán: Bold, underground, raw, genderless & street. My inspirations come from the queer rave scene. This is a place where you can express yourself freely. Without fear of being condemned and without deadlocked gender rules.

Luis: Vintage, bohemian, gypsy, pirate inspired & gender free. My style inspiration is driven by 80’s fashion, colour blocking and big shapes. I am also fascinated by the ancestral images of our indigenous and ancient communities and how to modernize it.

What does fashion mean to you? And: Do have some tips?

For us, fashion is the art of self expression. It gives us individuality, passion and a statement of who we are. It is also a big motivation to inspire others and ourselves with our work.

The only, and possibly the most important piece of advice we could give, is to be yourself. Don’t be afraid to experiment and express yourself with the clothes you wear. Be fearless, pay attention to details and ignore judgments. Trust yourself.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

The Pichis – LGBTQ Representatives & Fashion Designers

Heute möchten wir euch einen weiteren Teil der Malimo Family vorstellen: The Pichis (@the.pichis). Das sind Luis und Ciarán, ein verheiratetes Paar aus Dublin. Sie arbeiten an ihrem eigenen Modelabel P.Shirts: Vintage, unisex und einzigartig. Auf Instagram inspirieren sie uns mit ihrem besonderen Stil. Wir haben ihnen ein paar Fragen zu ihrem Leben als Paar, ihrem Label und ihren Inspirationen gestellt.

The Pichis Malimo x General Consulting Berlin
Wer seid ihr?

Wir sind ein verheiratetes Paar und leben in Dublin, Irland. Wir lieben Vintage Fashion, Fotografie und Kunst. Eine unserer Herzensangelegenheiten ist es, LGBTQ Content auf Social Media zu teilen und dadurch Stereotypen zu Geschlecht, Identität und Liebe zu brechen.

Wie habt ihr euch kennengelernt?

Wir haben uns vor 4 Jahre in einem Restaurant kennengelernt. Luis hat dort gearbeitet und Ciarán war als Gast da. Unser erstes Date war dann am 2. November – an Ciaráns Geburtstag! Seitdem sind wir zusammen. 2015 wurde die gleichgeschlechtliche Ehe in Irland durch ein Referendum legalisiert und wir haben dann im Dezember 2016 in Bray, Irland, geheiratet.

Wie entstand The Pichis?

Wir gründeten The Pichis gleich nach dem Referendum. Wir dachten uns, es wäre eine gute Idee, unser gemeinsames Leben auf einem Instagram account zu teilen und so der LGBTQ Community in Irland und auf der ganzen Welt eine zusätzliche Stimme zu geben. So entstand eine Seite, auf welcher man uns als Paar ohne Scham für ihre sexuelle Orientierung sehen kann. Außerdem wollten so mehr Leute wie uns kennenlernen.

Was könnt ihr uns über P.Shirts, euer eigenes Label, erzählen?

Die letzten zwei Jahre haben wir an unserem Label gearbeitet. P.Shirts (@pshirts.ie) ist eine Sammlung aus Vintage Shirts, die alle einzigartig, individuell und unisex sind. Diese Arbeit hat uns die Möglichkeit gegeben, die Fashion Industrie neu zu entdecken und sie aus einer anderen Persepektive zu betrachten, der Perspektive der Nachhaltigkeit.

Wir möchten Fast Fashion vermeiden. Stattdessen unterstützen und promoten wir kleine Labels, die bei ihrer Produktion wiederverwenden oder upcyclen. Das ist für uns die Zukunft der Mode und unser Traum ist es, unsere Brand nachhaltig weiterzuentwickeln.

                                                                                                                                                                                                       Luis in our Malimo x General Consulting „Zahnpflege“ Shirt

Ciarán in our Malimo x General Consulting „Schnittblumen“ Shirt

Wie beschreibt ihr euren Stil und was inspiriert euch?

Ciarán: Bold, underground, raw, genderless & street. Meine Inspirationen kommen von der Queer Rave Scene. Das ist ein Ort, an welchem man sich frei entfalten kann. Ohne Angst davor, verurteilt zu werden und ohne festgefahrene Geschlechterregeln.

Luis: Vintage, bohemian, gypsy, pirate inspired & gender free. Ich lasse mich viel von 80s Fashion, Colour Blocking und großen Formen inspirieren. Außerdem bin fasziniert von Abbildungen von Ureinwohnern und antiken Gesellschaften und wie man diese modernisieren kann.

Was bedeutet Fashion für euch? Und: Habt ihr Tipps?

Fashion ist für uns eine Art der Selbstverwirklichung. Sie gibt uns Individualität, Leidenschaft und das Statement, wer wir sind. Es ist außerdem eine große Motivation, andere und auch uns selbst mit unserem Schaffen zu inspirieren.

Der einzige und vermutlich wichtigste Tipp ist: Sei du selbst. Hab keine Angst davor, mit deiner Kleidung zu experimentieren und damit dich selbst auszudrücken. Sei furchtlos, achte auf Details und ignoriere die Kritik Anderer. Vertrau dir selbst.